Total Pageviews

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Gooty Tarantula

The Gooty Tarantula lives in central India, south-western India and Sri Lanka. If it is young it gets fed crickets and the common fruit fly. When adults they eat anoles and mice.

The Gooty Tarantula is Critically Endangered on the IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) Red List.

The Gooty Tarantula is threatened by habitat loss and pet trade.

Other names for Gooty Tarantula are Gooty Sapphire Ornamental Tree Spider, Gooty Sapphire, Metallic Tarantula, Peacock Parchute Spider, Peacock Tarantula and Salepurgu.

The Gooty Tarantula reflects a metallic blue colour.

Adult Gooty Tarantulas cost 500 american dollars.

Sunday, August 24, 2014

Did You Know

2 of the 3 types of Island Thrush in Australia are extinct.

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Did You Know...

That Black Rat has driven to extinction to subspecies of Island Thrush.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Did You Know...

That the Yellow-Crested Cockatoo lives in Indonesia and that Australia's yellow-crested cockatoo is called the Sulphur-Crested Cockatoo.

Monday, August 18, 2014

Did You Know...

That the Kakapo is the only parrot that is flightless.

Sunday, August 17, 2014

Did You Know...

That the smallest bird in the world is the size of a bee.

Friday, August 15, 2014

Did You Know...

That the Giant Squid has an eye the size of a soccer ball.

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Did You Know...

That Lonesome George was the last Pinta Island Tortoise alive. Sadly, he died in 2012.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Did You Know...

That the Pyrenean Ibex was the only animal that has been revived.